Are you tired of your Instagram account? Searching for how to delete an Instagram account on the web? Search no more. You are reading the right blog post. Here, I will teach you how to delete your Instagram account in very easy steps.
With over 2 billion users, the media sharing site can be both a blessing and a curse. It could be the endless scrolling. Feeling obligated to chronicle everything you do may be exhausting, and the flood of photographs of events from other people’s lives can exacerbate anxiety.
Whatever your reason is, if you have had enough of Instagram, you are left with two options. You can either delete your Instagram account permanently or deactivate your Instagram account with the intention of coming back later.
The Difference Between Deactivating and Deleting Your Instagram Account
Deactivating your Instagram account
Deactivating your account is only temporary. Nevertheless, your account, along with your profile, followers, and images, will be hidden from other users while it is removed. Simply logging back into your account will restore all of this information and allow you to resume normal Instagram usage.
Deleting your Instagram account
Deleting your Instagram account, on the other hand, is irreversible because it cannot be recovered once deleted. When your Instagram account is deleted permanently, all of your data, including images, followers, likes, and so on, is permanently erased. If you try to sign up on Instagram within 30 days, you will not be allowed to use the same username.
How to Delete An Instagram Account Step by Step
- Sign in to your Instagram account using a computer or mobile browser. This is because you can not delete your Instagram account via the app.
- Navigate to the Account Delete page (https://instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/).
- In that window, select an option from the drop-down box beside the “Why are you deleting your account?” question.
- Enter your password again.
- Select “Delete my account permanently.”
Note: Instagram will take 30 days to permanently delete your account and data.
How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account Step by Step
- Go to Instagram and sign in to your account.
- Go to your profile image in the upper right corner, click on it, and then select “Edit Profile.”
- Scroll down to the right and click “Temporarily deactivate my account.”
- Select the reason for deactivation from the drop-down option besides “Why are you deactivating your account?” and enter your password again.
- Select “Temporarily deactivate account” from the drop-down menu.
According to Instagram’s usage guidelines, you can only delete your account once each week. To reactivate your account, simply log back into Instagram.
How to download your Instagram data
When you deactivate your Instagram account, all of your data is permanently lost and cannot be recovered.
As a result, you may wish to backup your Instagram data before deleting your account to ensure that you retain all of the photographs, videos, and other media that you have uploaded. To backup your Instagram data, follow these steps:
- Navigate to your Instagram profile and choose “Settings”.
- Under the “Privacy & Security” section click the “Request Download” button.
- Enter your account information to obtain a link to your Instagram data.
- Within 2 days, you should get an email labeled “Your Instagram Data” with a link to download your data.
- Click the “Download Data” button.
How to Recover a Deleted Instagram Account
Remember that if it’s been more than 30 days since you authorized Instagram to delete your account, you won’t be able to recover it.
Therefore, if you are inside that 30-day time frame, you can recover your account, including all of your posts, DMs, and media. Simply return to Instagram, log in with your credentials and You’ll receive a notification stating that you asked that your account be terminated, as well as the date on which your data will be deleted. To recover the account, simply click the “Keep Account” button.
That’s it! Simply follow the above instructions and your Instagram account will be deleted in no time. If you feel uneasy about deleting and erasing all your Instagram data, simply take a break by deactivating it or downloading your data before deleting it.